Miscellaneous computer tips – Volume 6

Disabling the opening screen in Windows 10

One of the announces that some have regarding Windows 10 is that you have to flick a screen in order to get to the actual login screen. The following will allow you to go directly to the login screen:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Personalization]
“NoLockScreen”=dword:00000001

As usual, when modifying the registry, be careful and back up the registry first. Use at your own risk.

Managing small SSD drives

Some computers these days are shipping with a combination of SSD and large capacity mechanical data drives. A great idea, but it does require a bit more management, particularly when it comes to where to install new applications. In most cases, you will want new applications installed on the larger data drive, not the smaller capacity solid-state boot drive which may be too small.

To change the default drive for applications in Windows 10, click the Start Button and navigate to PC Settings -> System -> Storage. From this screen you can change the default locations for apps, documents, music, pictures, and video.

An alternative to this is to place your data [Office documents, pictures, music, etc.] on a mechanical data drive. For the primary data folders [such as My Documents, My Music, My Pictures, etc.] you can change the default location by doing the following:

  1. Go to c:\users\<yourname>. This is your profile folder.
  2. Right click on one of the primary data folders mention and select Properties.
  3. Click on the Location tab.
  4. In the field, if [for example] changing the My Music folder replace c:\users\<yourname>\My Music with [for example] d:\music.
  5. Click on the Apply and agree to the verification window.

Depending on how much data you have in that folder, it could take seconds to quite a long time [particularly if copying to another drive].

Tip: If setting up a new computer, change the default folders first.

Tip: I like to embed My Pictures, My Videos, My Music, and My Favorites inside My Documents [example: D:\My Documents\My Pictures]. So you just need to [hopefully] back up just that folder.

Warning: Some folders inside your profile should not be move. Restrict to just the major data ones.

I am used a 240GB SSD in my main system along with two larger mechanical data drives. As long as you do not use the SSD for any data storage, you are fine. I’ve had this setup for 5+ years. Excluding swap and hibernation files [latter because of my UPS], I am at 45% free. My Documents and related are on a mechanical data drive.

Extending Sent To Menu

When you are working in File Explorer and you right-click a file and navigate to the Send To Menu item, you’ll see a small list of suggested places where you can send the file. If you Shift + right-click that file instead and then navigate to the Send To Menu item, you will be shown a much more extensive list of places where you can send that file.

 

About ebraiter
computer guy

Leave a Reply

