Upgrading to Windows 10 Creator Update? My thoughts

So this past weekend I upgraded Windows 10 from v1607 to v1703.

Everything was straight forward. Within 30 minutes I was at v1703. Nothing looked odd or anything. So far so good. [Yes, just 30 minutes. I have a Core i7 with a SSD but the system itself is 3.5 years old.]

That wouldn’t last.

Unsure why Microsoft does this. Why can’t they leave our settings alone. For example:

  • I like my Caps Lock disabled. It’s back to enabled. [Note that this isn’t surprising. A while ago with Windows 7 installed, I couldn’t install a security update until I enabled the Caps Lock!]
  • I added some settings to enable the command prompt and an elevated command prompt if I right click on a folder. Those disappeared.
  • Setting in File Explorer such as Details Pane was disabled.
  • I had to disable again a bunch of telemetry settings that I enabled.
  • Audio dropped from 5.1 to 2.1.
  • Internet Explorer history is gone.
  • There is a “fix” in v1607 that enabled the “classic” User Access Control you saw in Windows 7. Now the fix does nothing. It’s gone.

There always seems to be stuff like this. Why can’t Microsoft just leave it, if it has been set.

 

About ebraiter
computer guy

Leave a Reply

