Google’s Chrome browser isn’t secure

A word of warning when you use the Google Chrome web browser. The browser uses a misleading notification system.

When you see the “Secure” notification in the browser location bar, this means that the connection between the browser and the website you went to is encrypted. But this does not mean that the you should fully trust the web site. It isn’t guaranteed that the web site is safe from phishing, malware, etc.

This is [as I said] because the “Secure” notification only means that there is encryption between your computer’s browser and that site. You can encrypt anything.

If the encryption certificate for the site has been revoked, the Chrome browser will still show it as “Secure”. Google knows about the issue but hasn’t corrected the issue.

In addition, according to year end reports [2016, 2017], Google’s Chrome browser continues to lead all browsers in vulnerabilities making it less secure.

[Note: Both links above may be technical for some. The results appear on page 20 for both reviews and the comparison of web browsers are on page 21. As well, they are external links. View at your own risk.]

Some vulnerabilities are more critical than others. But with the Chrome browser picking up users over the past few years, some vulnerabilities have been aimed at the browsers. Others are from sloppy programming.

This doesn’t mean you should stop using the Chrome web browser. More like you should understand that the browser isn’t 100% secure and Google’s claim that it is, is misleading. But no web browser is secure.