Misleading software advertising on TV?

Recently, Max My Speed has been advertised on CNN (and probably elsewhere) stating that by running their software it will clean out slow systems. Some non-experts in the commercial claimed their system speed increased by 100% or is twice as faster as before (both are basically the same!). (Notice how they actually had no computer experts – just novice users. What does that tell you?)

Yes, the commercial claims that spyware, malware and other junk can slow down the system. But this product doesn’t correct them (or at least isn’t made to). The software is nothing but a registry cleaner (after installing, registry cleaner is even in the name).

I have always stated that once a system has been infected with garbage such as malware, it will never be the same.

Some, such as technical guru Mark Russinovich of Microsoft, have stated while registry cleaners will always be required, some do more harm than good. Some could make your system unstable or won’t start. I had tested one registry cleaner (not this one) and found out that it removed the serial number to the software that was installed. I had to re-enter it. Even Microsoft had a basic registry cleaner but has since removed it since it caused some damage.

According to Russinovich “even if the registry was massively bloated there would be little impact on the performance of anything other than exhaustive searches”.

Recently I compared the findings between Max My Speed and CCleaner registry cleaner. Max My Speed complained of almost 2400 errors on my system. When I ran CCleaner, I got none.

 Here is a second test. I installed Max My Speed on a freshly installed Windows 7. It is up to date in security and non-security updates. Installed just Adobe Flash Player and Microsoft Security Essentials on the system. You would figure that it was fairly clean but Max My Speed reported 36 “user software settings” errors, 176 “system software settings” errors, and 25 “file association” errors.

So how can there be issues on a fresh system or such a huge discrepancy on a well-used system?

And they are charging $40US for it?

Registry issues are not the only reasons why systems slow down. They include (but not limited to) malware still on the system, defragmented files, software that should have been removed but wasn’t, aging system compared to the software or version of Windows installed, lack of memory, etc. Max My Speed doesn’t mention any of these or others.

Note that Max My Speed will only scan for errors – you have to purchase the software to correct the problems. This isn’t mentioned in the TV commercial.

Source for Mark Russinovich quotation (in a reply):

http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinovich/archive/2005/10/02/registry-junk-a-windows-fact-of-life.aspx

Notice: My findings are not scientific but you do have to wonder about Max My Speed’s claims, the fact that there are no experts mentioned, and the fact that you have to purchase the software to fix the “problems”.

About ebraiter
computer guy

5 Responses to Misleading software advertising on TV?

  1. Pingback: Pro Blogger News

  2. Xerdo says:

    Sir, you just borked your system. This “maxmyspeed” is, itself, spyware. It will keep on re-installing itself, and try to charge for non-existent (but “urgent” ) repairs, and try to scare you into buying the full version.

    There was another similar software advertised on CNN the same way, with the same effects.

    There are many removal tutorials on the web for this scam and similar malware. Please proceed to remove it as soon as you can, or your computer will be in serious trouble.

  3. ebraiter says:

    If anything, it is more like the fake AV software.

    But I’ve checked the system with just the base installation and no funny stuff.

    • Xerdo says:

      no funny stuff… yet. But it’s good that you checked. I say remove that thing and just try ccleaner, mate.

      The other one they were advertising was, indeed, one of those “Fake AV” full of spyware. I just can’t for the life of me remember the name.

      You know, like System Tool 2010, and Windows Antivirus XP – Scareware or Ransomware, they call them.

      “WOT” (Web of Trust) has them in their red category with a myriad of angry negative reviews.

  4. Dave says:

    The fact CNN pushes this crap so much makes me think the software’s name should be more like CheckForTerrorists.com.

    Free diagnosis. Yeah sure. In return they get a free scan of your system. If you do run this, I’d cut your Internet connection while it’s running (if it isn’t running all the time in the background to begin with).

    Free versions of ccCleaner or Malwarebytes is better. I can see what the software thinks and decide for myself if I want to manually remove it after researching it. Alas, I’m in IT which helps.

Leave a Reply

